My Poem, Light Is Now A Song!

By Jennifer Hansford

@HansfordJen (twitter)

 

I have been interested in writing since I could barely spell. I write a lot of poetry and short stories. About a month ago, I wrote a poem called Light, as a little homage to what writing means to me and how it helps me deal with life. When I write, whether it’s a poem, a short story or an article, there’s something that comes over me, where I’m no longer the physical space I’m in, but in a world that is completely my own, where there’s nothing but positivity, health, happiness, love, calmness, energy or whatever it is I need at the moment. It’s kind of like my own version of heaven, before I actually get there.

Thanks to creating this blog, I was able to meet a talented acoustic musician through Twitter a few months ago and write about him. He so generously and awesomely made my poem into a song, creating a melody and providing vocals. Hearing this song is so amazing to me, not only because the words in the song are my own, but because I think he sings it with all the emotion I myself feel when I’m writing. I can now listen to a song that I provided words for, and inspire myself for once. For that I’m extremely touched and grateful.

I have always wanted to leave something special in the world, and I feel almost relived that my words are in a spoken form and not just a written form, and that these are immortalized.

My many thanks to Greg Freeman. We made a great creative team!

 

I have created a SoundCloud account in order to share the song. Listen to it here:

https://soundcloud.com/user-265353916

Here is the poem, if you would like the words while listening:

Light

Light, By Jennifer Hansford

Leave a comment